Do one thing, every day, that scares you.

What scares you?  I, and probably everyone I know, suffer from Impostor Syndrome.  This is the fancy name for the feeling that you’re not good enough, and the only reason they haven’t hauled you out of your job for incompetence is because somehow nobody’s noticed yet.  And so one of the scariest things for me is to say “I’m a professional sewist, I can make that for you,” or to otherwise put myself out there as knowing what I’m doing.

I *do* know what I’m doing.  I’ve been sewing in earnest for nearly 15 years at this point, and I dabbled before that.  I tackle projects that others feel are quite advanced, and I find them easy, like corsets.  I tackle things like gloves that others refuse to even try, though I will admit that I’m terrified of cutting the glove pattern I’ve now drafted; I have no way of telling if what I’ve done is correct until I cut it out and sew it.  There’s just not much information out there on making and fitting gloves.

Nevertheless, it’s difficult to say to someone “yes, I know what I”m doing.

Leave a Reply

